Cops welcome ranks similar to Armed Forces of the Philippines

February 26, 2019

STLL retaining their civilian character, officers and men of the 190,000-strong Philippine National Police have fully welcomed President Duterte’s signing into law of a bill which returned their old ranks similar to their counterparts in the Armed Forces of which the PNP’s forerunner, the famed but now defunct Philippine Constabulary once belong.

“The PNP welcomes the approval and signing by the President into law the measure which modifies the rank classification in the PNP and standardizes how police officers are being called,” said PNP spokesman Senior Superintendent Bernard M. Banac.

According to the official, “the new law clarifies the command and responsibility in the PNP for effective and efficient supervision and control among its uniformed personnel while performing their mandate to enforce the law, fight illegal drugs and crimes, maintain peace and order, with the active support of the people in the community.”

The consolidated version of Senate Bill 2031 and House Bill 5236 will take effect 15 days after publication in the Official Gazette.

As provided by the new law, PNP chief Director General Oscar D. Albayalde will henceforth be now addressed as Police General. On the other hand, the members of his Command Group, Deputy Director General Fernando H. Mendez Jr. (PNP Deputy Chief for Administration); Deputy Director General Archie Francisco F. Gamboa (PNP Deputy Chief for Operations); and Deputy Director General Camilo Pancratius P. Cascolan (PNP The Chief Directorial Staff) will now be known as Police Lieutenant Generals.

On the other hand, the members of the PNP Directorial Staff as well as the other Police Directors including National Capital Region Police Office chief, Director Guillermo Lorenzo T. Eleazar will now be addressed as Police Major Generals.

Police Chief Superintendents will now be called Police Brigadier Generals while Police Senior Superintendents will be addressed as Police Colonels.

Police Superintendents are now Police Lieutenant Colonels; Police Chief Inspectors are now Police Majors; Police Senior Inspectors are now Police Captains and Police Inspectors are now to be addressed as Police Lieutenants.

On the other hand, the Police Non-Commissioned Officers will now henceforth be known as the following: Senior Police Officer 4 as Police Executive Master Sergeant; Senior Police Officer 3 as Police Chief Master Sergeant; Senior Police Officer 2 as Police Senior Master Sergeant; Senior Police Officer 1 as Police Master Sergeant; Police Officer 3 to Police Staff Sergeant; Police Officer 2 to Police Corporal and Police Officer 1 to Police Patrolman/Patrolwoman.