A look at Albayalde’s 17 regional directors (2)

September 14, 2018

On Monday, Gen. Albayalde approved the designation of Cruz as new PRO13 director in Caraga region vice Chief Supt. Noli A. Romana, the PNP chief’s classmate from PMA ‘Sinagtala’ Class of 1986. It would be Cruz’ 2nd stint as an RD since he also was the RD of PRO8 in Eastern Visayas for nearly six months before he was replaced by another PMA Class 1986 member, Chief Supt. Mariel Magaway.

Sad to say, both Magaway and Romana were also relieved by Gen. Albayalde to prove that there would be no ‘mistah-mistah’ for him when it comes to performance. I hope and pray that sooner or later, the two will also get another golden chance to get a position of much higher responsibility. I hope that Magaway, now back as PNP Deputy Director for Intelligence and Romana, who swapped post with Cruz as Deputy Director of the PNP Directorate for Integrated Police Operations-Western Mindanao will be given another opportunity to prove their worth.Magaway still has more than 2-years left in the service although Romana has 10 more months to go before retiring at the age of 56. I hope that luck will smile at them very soon just like their mistah, incoming PNP Deputy Director General Pikoy Cascolan, the erstwhile NCRPO chief who became the PNP Civil Security Group director for nearly two months before being appointed by Gen. Albayalde as his ‘bastonero’ or the PNP Chief Directorial Staff, the 4th highest position in the PNP two weeks ago.

Cruz is the 2nd PNPA Class 1986 member who is a PNP Regional Director at present. The other is Chief Supt. Mol Sapitula, the PRO1 director in Ilocos-Pangasinan region who will be retiring from the police force on April 25 next year or barely seven months from now. I heard that Sapitula has been defending himself from his critics in the region as well as the PNP-NHQ and wish that he would overcome the challenges and stay on his job until next year.

Apart from Licup and Apolinario, there are also 13 other Peemayers who are RDs at present. There are six PMA Class 1987 members out of the 15, namely Licup, Apolinario, NCRPO chief, Director Gilor Eleazar, lawyer-Chief Supt. Arnel Escobal of PRO5 in Bicol region; Chief Supt. Loy Morales of PRO11 in Southern Mindanao; and Chief Supt. Debold Sinas of PRO7 in Central Visayas.

The only remaining PMA Class 1985 member who is still an RD is Chief Supt. Rolly Nana of the Cordillera police. Nana used to be a Manila Police District director and served as the deputy regional director for administration of Gen. Albayalde when the Chief,PNP was still the head of the NCRPO. I remember Nana as presenting the NCRPO Performance Governance Report in behalf of Gen. Albayalde who and passing it with flying colors early this year.

Five RDs are members of PMA Class 1986: Chief Supt. Joemar Espino of PRO2 in Cagayan Valley; Chief Supt. Amador Corpus of PRO3 in Central Luzon; Chief Supt. Ted Carranza of PRO4-A in Calabarzon region; Chief Supt. Tim Pacleb of PRO10 in Northern Mindanao; and Chief Supt. Ely Rasco of PRO12 in Central Mindanao.  

The three others are members of PMA ‘Maringal’ Class of 1988, the PMA Class which has produced the likes of PNP spokesman, incoming Chief Supt. Bong Durana and the famous Colonel Michael Ray Aquino or ‘Ninoy’ to friends like me. The three ‘Maringals’ are Chief Supt. John Bulalacao of PRO6 in Western Visayas, Chief Supt. Dionards Carlos of PRO8 in Eastern Visayas and Chief Supt. Graciano ‘MJ’ Mijares of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Police Regional Office.