The EDDYS 2019 honors 10 movie icons

May 26, 2019
Amalia Fuentes, Tirso Cruz III, Eddie Garcia

TEN respected local film luminaries will be recognized in the third edition of the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors' (SPEEd) The EDDYS happening in July.

Carrying on the tradition of paying tribute to movie stars who have made an indelible mark in the industry through their significant bodies of work, this year’s Icon Awards will be conferred upon Amalia Fuentes, Tirso Cruz III, Christopher de Leon, Joseph Estrada, Eddie Gutierrez, Anita Linda, Dante Rivero, Celia Rodriguez, Vilma Santos and Lorna Tolentino.

Meanwhile, as SPEEd joins in the celebration of the 100 years of Philippine Cinema, in partnership with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) led by Chairperson Liza Diño, the group will also honor some of the industry’s “unsung heroes” who work behind the camera.

These film workers are the backbones of movie projects.

For years, they have dedicated their talents, working tirelessly for long hours deriving their professional satisfaction from their work behind the scenes.  

Also included in the list are the three major studios that inspired new players in film production.

These are Sampaguita Pictures (represented by Marichu Vera Perez-Maceda) LVN Studios (Maroth de Leon) and Premiere Productions (Digna Santiago).

Completing the “Parangal Sa Sandaan” list are Armida Siguion-Reyna (posthumous), Val Iglesias, Vic Delotavo (posthumous), Romy Vitug, Romy Peralta, Lucy Quinto, Val Campbell, Rustica Carpio and Rosa Rosal.

The 100 years of Philippine Cinema was recognized through Presidential Proclamation 622 Series signed in November, assigning FDCP as lead agency for the celebration.

The editors’ group has already unveiled the list of nominees for the third edition of The EDDYS.

"Citizen Jake,” "Goyo,” “Liway,” "Rainbow’s Sunset” and "Signal Rock” are the five films vying for the coveted best picture at this year’s ceremony.

The EDDYS aims to encourage local filmmakers, producers, writers and actors to continue pursuing their passion for creating films that mirror the realities of our society.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and tabloids circulated daily nationwide.

The non-profit organization, established in 2015, is led by Ian F. Farinas as president and Isah V. Red as chairman emeritus.