Highway Patrol Group cited for lesser car, motorcycle thefts

Oscar D. Albayalde

THE Department of the Interior and Local Government and the Philippine National Police leadership yesterday commended the PNP Highway Patrol Group (PNP-HPG) headed by Brigadier General Roberto B. Fajardo for playing a major role in the drastic reduction of car and motorcycle thefts and highway robbery. 

DILG Secretary Eduardo M. Año  and PNP chief, Director General Oscar D. Albayalde said the achievements made by the PNP-HPG through the years speak well of its professionalism, competence and commitment to its mandate as the ‘Guardians of the Highways.’

Gen. Albayalde minced no words in saying that the PNP-HPG’s accomplishments in large measure have contributed to the promotion of peace and order in the streets. Official records showed that from 2015 up to date, the PNP-HPG has recorded a major decrease in vehicle thefts nationwide.

In 2018, there were a total of 328 cases of motor vehicle thefts investigated by the unit compared to the 328 cases in 2017 or a 24 percent reduction.

The PNP-HPG also recorded a 31 percent reduction in cases of motorcycle theft during the same period with 3,610 motorcycles reported stolen last year compared to the 5,223 in 2017.

The PNP-HPG was also lauded for its continuing operation against well-organized ‘Rent-Sangla, Rent-Tangay and Assume Balance’ carnapping schemes in the country last year which saw HPG agents recovering 155 motor vehicles stolen thru the said modus operandi, 36 of them already returned to their rightful owners.

Fajardo said that from  2018 to date, they have already arrested 532 car theft personalities, 103 of them included in their most wanted list with 10 of them in the National Most Wanted List of the PNP-HPG headquarters.

The PNP-HPG marked its 64th founding anniversary yesterday by renewing its firm commitment to help ensure road safety and discipline and further reduce highway robberies, car and motorcycle thefts and hijackings.

Sec. Año, assisted by Gen. Albayalde and Fajardo handed awards to outstanding HPG officers and men and other individuals who have contributed well in the Unit’s major accomplishments since last year during the anniversary with the theme “Disiplina sa Pagsunod sa Batas, ang Susi sa Daang Ligtas.’

The  awardees were led by the Regional Highway Patrol Unit 3 headed by Colonel Kirby John Kraft. The RHPU 3 is this year’s Best RHPU of the Year.

Other unit awardees were the Batangas Provincial Highway Patrol Team headed by Captain Jet Sayno; the Regional Highway Patrol Unit 4-A headed by Col. Jonathan Calixto, the RHPU7 headed by Lt. Col. Vergel Villasper; the RHPU12 headed by Lt. Col. Joshua Alejandro; the Bulacan PHPT headed by Major Michol Lava; the Iloilo PHPT headed by Capt. Peter Bergonio; the Davao del Norte PHPT headed by Lieutenant Darwina Ybañez and the Quezon City District Highway Patrol Team headed by Major Gaudencio Diaz.