701 election hotspots listed

February 12, 2019

A total of 701 areas nationwide were declared election hotspots by the Philippine National Police (PNP) based on the parameters set by the Commission on Elections.

This was announced yesterday by PNP chief Director General Oscar Albayalde.

Albayalde explained that the number of election hotspots increase based on the new parameters given by the Comelec .

He explained that areas identified as election hotspots have either intense political rivalry, election related violence and the presence of armed group.

Of the total number of election hotspots, 94 are considered areas of grave concern.

In January Albayalde announced that the PNP was monitoring only 19 areas of grave concern.

From 19 areas, the PNP has now listed 94 areas of grave concern.

Of the number of areas of grave concern, 27 are in ARMM, 19 in Bicol Region, 17 in Calabarzon , 17 sa Western Mindanao , 6 in Mimaropa, 6 in Western Visayas, 5 in Northern Mindanao, 4 in SOCSARGEN, 4 in Cordillera, 3 in Eastern Visayas, 2 in Central Luzon , 2 in Davao Region, one in Caraga and one in Cagayan Valley Region.