Bato, retired PNP generals win big

RETIRED Philippine National Police generals led by former PNP chief, General Ronald ‘Bato’ M. dela Rosa turned up to be big winners in Monday’s national and local elections.

With 96.17% of election returns already transmitted as of 7:30 a.m. yesterday, Dela Rosa, a member of Philippine Military Academy ‘Sinagtala’ Class of 1986  will become the second ex-PNP chief to become a Philippine senator with more than 18 million votes, the first being Sen. Panfilo ‘Ping’ M. Lacson of PMA ‘Matatag’ Class of 1971.  

Dela Rosa appears to be the 5th placer in the race for the 12-man Senate seat.

Other winners in Monday’s polls are former PNP Criminal Investigation and Detection Group director, Major General Benjamin B. Magalong of PMA ‘Sandigan’ Class of 1982 who will become the first general to lead Baguio City. Running under the Nationalist People’s Coalition, Magalong led his most closest rival by nearly 20,000 votes.

Magalong is known to have gotten the support of Baguio City residents who wished for a new brand of leadership and went for a candidate known for his principle and untarnished integrity. The new Baguio City mayor used to be a Cordillera police regional director before he became head of the CIDG who earned the ire of the former Aquino administration when he came up with a full report on the Mamasapano incident that killed 44 Special Action Force commandos in January 2015.