Bong Go leads awarding of outstanding cops

February 11, 2019

FORMER Special Assistant to President Rodrigo Duterte Christopher Lawrence’”Bong” Go yesterday led the presentation of 20 outstanding police commissioned who vied to become the first recipients of the “Brigadier General Rafael T. Crame Balangay” awards.

Joined by top Philippine National Police officials led by Director General Oscar D. Albayalde, National Capital Region Police Office chief Director Guillermo Lorenzo T. Eleazar and retired Gen. Lucas M. Managuelod of the Public Safety Savings and Loan Association, Inc. (PSSLAI), Go lauded the finalists who received prizes in check courtesy of PSSLAI and certificates of recognition from the Association of Chiefs of Police of the Philippines, Inc.

The finalists were the Olongapo City Police Station chief Senior Supt. Benjamin Sembrano; La Union Police Provincial Office director Senior Supt. Ricardo Layug Jr.; Sorsogon PPO director Senior Supt. Marlon Tejada; Dipolog City Police Station chief Supt. Gilzen Nino Manese; Valencia City PS chief Supt. Ritchie Yandug;

Sorsogon City PS chief Supt. Jefferson Araojo; Agoo Municipal Police Station commander in La Union  Chief Inspector Chey Chey Saulog; Bulan MPS commander in Sorsogon Chief Inspector Joel Trinanes; Matungao City Police Station chief in Lanao del Norte  Senior Inspector Pidta Comonog; San Gabriel MPS chief in La Union Inspector Cicero Mendoza;

Southern Leyte PPO director Senior Supt. Nelso Eucogco; Camarines Norte PPO director Senior Supt. Godofredo Tul-o; Bukidnon PPO director Senior Supt. Benedicto Pintor; Cabanatuan City Police Station commander Supt. Ponciano Zafra; San Fernando CPS commander in La Union Supt. Arbel Mercullo; Tagaytay City Police Station commander Supt. Byron Tabernilla; Viga MPS commander in Catanduanes Inspector Benjamin Reonal; Dinalupihan MPS commander in Bataan Supt. Eduardo Guevara Jr.; Calasiao MPS commander in Pangasinan Supt. Franklin Ortiz; and Lala MPS commander in Lanao del Norte Chief Inspector Jonan Banas.

Of the 20, 10 were eventually chosen to become the grand winners of the Balangay award and each received P400,000 from the PSSLAI, a trophy and a plaque of recognition from the ACPPI.

They are the Southern Leyte PPO headed by Eucogco; the Camarines Norte PPO led by Tul-o; the Bukidnon PPO headed by Pintor;  the Cabanatuan CPS led by Zafra; the San Fernando CPS headed by Mercullo; the Tagaytay CPS led by Tabernilla; the Viga MPS headed by Reonal; the Dinalupihan MPS headed by Guevara; the Calasiao MPS led by Ortiz; and the Lala MPS headed by Banas.

The other finalists were given certificates of recognition during the event which is a brainchild of the Police-Community Relations Group headed by Chief Supt. Rhodel O. Sermonia.