Commission on Audit bares solons’ expenses

MEMBERS of the House of Representatives in 2017 spent a total of P4.892 billion in carrying out their task of crafting laws.

Out of the P4.892 billion, P31.5 million was spent on travel.

These figures were released by the Commission on Audit (CoA) under a report with the title “Itemized List of Amounts Paid to and Expenses Incurred for Each House Members.”

The report covered the dates from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017.

Based on the record, the office of former Speaker and Davao del Norte Rep. Pantaleon Alvarez was the biggest spender, with P43.7 million, followed by PBA party-list Rep. Jericho Jonas Nograles with P23.4 million.

Alvarez was ousted as Speaker on July 2018.

The CoA report included Kalinga Rep. Allan Jesse Mangaoang (P22.2 million); former DIWA Rep. Emmeline Aglipay-Villar (P20.4 million); North Cotabato Rep. Nancy Catamco (P20 million); Pangasinan Rep. Leopoldo Bataoil (P19.69 million); Southern Leyte Rep. Roger Mercado (P19.67 million); North Cotabato Rep. Jesus Nonato Sacdalan (P19.1 million); Cagayan Rep. Randolph Ting (P19 million); Misamis Oriental Rep. Peter Unabia (P19 million); Bohol Rep. Arthur Yap (P18.9 million); Zamboanga Sibugay Rep. Ann Hofer (P18.8 million) and Negros Occidental Rep. Alfredo Benitez (P18.8 million)

In terms of foreign trips the most traveled were Taguig City Rep. Pia Cayetano with P864,000; AAMBIS-OWA party-list Rep. Sharon Garin (P722,500); Leyte Rep. Henry Ong (P521,620); and Mata party-list Rep. Tricia Nicole Velasco-Catera (P417,245)

The CoA also indicated that lawmakers spent a total of P753.6 million for hiring contractual consultants; P243 for representation; P53.3 million for communications and P240 million for chairmanship allocations.


The COA also issued a report on the expenses of each senator.  Here’s the breakdown from highest to lowest:

Senators Koko Pimentel (P127.8 million)

Senator Antonio Trillanes (P87 million)

Senator Manny Pacquiao (P86.5 million)

Senator Rissa Hontiveros (P85.2 million)

Senator Bam Aquino (85 million)

Senator Ralph Recto (P84.4 million)

Senator Nancy Binay (79.1 million)

Senator Leila de Lima (78.8 million)

Senator Sonny Angara (78.7 million)

Senator Loren Legarda (P78.5)

Senator Jv Ejercito (78.2 million)

Senator Grace Poe (77.9 million)

Senator Francis Escudero (76.3 million)

Former Senator Gringo Honasan (P76.3)

Senator Miguel Zubiri (P75 million)

Senator Cynthia Villar (73.8 million)

Senator Ping Lacson (P73.5 million)

Senator Tito Sotto (P72.9 million)

Senator Sherwin Gatchalian (72.4 million)

Senator Dick Gordon (P72 million)

Senator Kiko Pangilinan (P66.5)

Seantor Franklin Drilon (64.6 million)

Senator Joel Villanueva (P63.2  million)

Former Senator Alan Peter Cayetano (49.1 million)