Gamboa welcomes 205 PNPA grads

THE Philippine National Police headed by General Archie Francisco F. Gamboa yesterday welcomed 205 PNP Academy graduates who will join the police service after being inducted into office by President Duterte on Friday.

"I encourage our new Police Lieutenants to set the bar high as law enforcement officers. You should proudly carry our name and mission, as you work in furtherance of peace and order and security in the country. The challenges that you encountered while inside the academy only serve to mold your character as individuals and to enhance the best possible performance that you can apply in this career path," said the PNP chief in a message to the rookie officers.

On Friday, President Duterte officially inducted the 252 members of PNPA ‘MANDAYUG’ or  Mga Alagad Ng batas na may Diwa at Simbolo ng Bagong Araw na Yumayakap at Umaagapay sa Ginintuang Lahi) Class of 2020 as Commissioned Officers in the police, jail and fire service bureaus during the simultaneous virtual graduation rites of the PNPA and the Philippine Military Academy.

"In our line of duty, you will be called on to save lives, while putting your own on the line. You will be tasked with big and small responsibilities and you must embrace them with equal commitment and dedication. Keep on reaching out to our people and let them know that you are ready to serve them with courage, integrity and compassion,” Gen. Gamboa told the 205 new police lieutenants.

Of the 252 new PNP graduates, 22 will join the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology while 25 will join the Bureau of Fire Protection. The PNPA MANDAYUG Class of 2020 is composed of 178 males and 74 females. In general, the graduation rites was closed to public to observe the social/physical distancing rules set by health authorities to curb the spread of the COVID-19.

Topping the PNPA Class 2020’s order of merit is 24-year old First Class Cadet Lei Anne B. Palermo of Zamboanga City who received the coveted Presidential Kampilan Award and a Plaque of Merit from the Chief Executive. Palermo will be joining the BFP.

The other topnotchers of the Class are Cadets Julius Ceazar Tarnate, Zanda Gutierez, Lindon Narvaza, Jerelyn Barua, Irish Gumaru, Enrico Reyes, Jose Leander Velasquez, Lani Mendoza and Jesulita Javier.