Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo hands off speakership contest

SPEAKER Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo will not intervene in the speakership race in the 18th Congress.

Speaker Arroyo said she wanted to retire from politics and will leave to the next Congress the decision on who will be the next Speaker.

The former President was asked to comment on the speakership race especially amid Hugpong ng Pagbabago founder and chairman Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte’s declaration of support for two candidates for the position.

“I don’t want to comment on the next Congress because I am not going to be a part of it,” Arroyo told reporters on the sidelines of her visit to Teleprformance in Bacolod City.

Last week in Eastern Visayas, Mayor Duterte introduced in separate campaign rallies comebacking Leyte Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez and Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco as the next Speaker of the House Arroyo, whose term as Pampanga Representative will expire on June 30, 2019, was elected as the First Lady Speaker with the help of Mayor Duterte.

She said she will rather not endorse anyone, however there is talk that she might back close ally Romualdez. They are both from Lakas-CMD before Arroyo joined PDP-Laban.

Mayor Duterte called Romualdez as the next Speaker of the House during the campaign rally in Tacloban City.

In a statement, Romualdez announced his interest to become the next Speaker, and vowed to push for the legislative agenda of President Rodrigo Duterte.