Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo thanks Senate for adopting House measure on seniors

February 05, 2019
Gloria Macapagal Arroyo

SPEAKER Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo expressed gratitude to the Senate for adopting  the House version of the bill creating the National Commission of Senior Citizens.

The bill seeks to strengthen the rights of senior citizens in the country.

Speaker Arroyo was one of the principal authors of the measure.

The proposed law was approved on third reading by the Lower House last January 29, 2019 with 175 approval and no objection and abstention.

“With this bill, there will be one agency, the NCSC, which will be responsible for the formulation and implementation of policies, plans and programs for our senior citizens,” she said.

“I would like to commend our congressmen for actively pushing for it. I am glad that the Senate has adopted our measure. This will ensure better delivery of services to all our senior citizens,” Arroyo added.

during her presidency that two of the pioneering laws on the rights of senior citizens were passed – the Expanded Senior Citizens Act of 2003 (RA 9257) and the Expanded Senior Citizens Act of 2010 (RA 9994). Both laws granted to senior citizens discounts of 20 percent on goods and services, social pension to indigent elderly, mandatory PhilHealth coverage, death benefit assistance, express lanes, educational privileges, tax deductions, among others.

Under the proposed law, all matters pertaining to senior citizens shall be under the NCSC which will ensure the effective implementation of various programs and services for senior citizens and establish community-based health and rehabilitation, educational and socioeconomic programs for the elderly.

The NCSC will replace the National Coordinating and Monitoring Board created under the Expanded Senior Citizens Act of 2010. It will be composed of a Chairperson and six Commissioners acting as a collegial body. The six Commissioners shall represent different geographical regions of the Philippines and shall hold office in their respective regions.