House committee okays tax amnesty

November 13, 2018
Rodrigo R. Duterte
Rodrigo R. Duterte

THE House Committee on Ways and Means yesterday approved a substitute bill on the granting of tax amnesty to delinquent payers, which is another priority measure of President Rodrigo Duterte.

Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, one of the authors, was present during the approval of the measure entitled “An Act Enhancing Revenue Administration and Collection by Granting Amnesty on All Unpaid Internal Revenue Taxes Imposed by the National Government for Taxable Year of 2017 and Prior Years.”

The principal author of the bill is 1PACMAN Rep. Michael “Mikee” Romero.

Arroyo vowed to support and push for the legislative agenda of President Duterte, especially those that aim at uplifting the lives of the Filipinos and spur economic growth.

For his part, Romero expressed gratitude to the committee chaired by Nueva Ecija Rep. Estrelita Suansing for prioritizing and including his proposed House Bill 3655.

The measure seeks to enhance revenue administration and collection and simplify tax payment processes to encourage taxpayers to pay their taxes.

“This priority bill of mine is a landmark bill that will both help the government in revenue collections and fix the nightmare of individuals and corporate taxpayers. Once individuals avail of the tax amnesty, they will all have a clean slate in terms of tax payments,” Romero said.

“This tax reform package will bring desired end of strengthening tax enforcement and ultimately collect more tax revenues to fund the operation of the government and spur economic growth, too,” he added.

Included in the amnesty are the estate taxes and general taxes. The Estate tax amnesty covers taxes of the estates of decedents who died in 2017 and prior years, with or without assessments duly issued therefor, that have remained unpaid as of December 31, 2017. The general tax, on the other hand, includes all national internal revenue taxes for 2017 and prior years.

Romero stressed that tax amnesty will certainly lead to an immediate increase in tax collections and at the same time provide an opportunity to broaden the tax- payer base, as well as giving erring persons and entities another chance to reform and become more responsible taxpayers.

Aside from Romero and Speaker Arroyo, other authors of the bill are Minority Leader Danilo Suarez; Valenzuela City Rep. Wes Gatchalian;  Ilocos Sur Rep. Eric Singson; Davao del Norte Rep. Pantaleon Alvarez, Ilocos Norte Rep. Rodolfo Farinas; Quirino Rep. Dax Cua and Negros Oriental Rep. Jocelyn Limkaichong.