Liberal Party vows true opposition

THE Liberal Party (LP) will be a strong and true Minority bloc in the House of Representatives.

This is according to re-elected Quezon City Rep. Kit Belmonte, as he admitted that they will be outnumbered by administration allies in the 18th Congress.

The new Congress will begin on the 29th of July before the 4th State of the Nation Address (SONA).

Based on the latest tally, there are only 18 LP members who won in this year’s elections.

Like the Senate, the House of Representatives will be having more administration members.

“Our last count is 18 representatives so far – not much different from our numbers in the current Congress. Which means you can expect the same tyranny from the supermajority,” Belmonte said in a statement.

Belmonte is LP’s Secretary General.

LP members elected are Edgar Erice (Caloocan 2nd District); Kid Peña (Makati 1st District); Stella Quimbo (Marikina 2nd District);  Cheryl Deloso Montalla (Zambales 2nd District); Francis Gerald Abaya (Cavite 1st District); Josephine Ramirez Sato (Occidental Mindoro); Alfonso Umali Jr, (Oriental Mindoro 2nd District); Edcel Lagman (Albay 1st District); Gabriel Bordado (Camarines Sur 3rd District); Emmanuel Billones (Capiz 1st District); Jocelyn Limkaichong (Negros Oriental 1st District); Edgardo Chatto (Bohol 1st District); Raul del Mar (Cebu City 1st District);  Raul Daza (Northern Samar 1st District); Edgar Mary Sarmiento (Samar 1st District); Isagani Amatong, Zamboanga del Norte and Mujiv Hataman (Basilan).

“The Liberals and its allies will continue to stand for our values. Maaaring kaunti kami, pero lalaban kami. Dahil hindi nadadaan sa paramihan ng mga nakataas na kamay ang tama at mali,”  Belmonte said.