Most of PH stays in MGCQ

August 15, 2020

UNDER the shadow of a persistent COVID-19 pandemic, the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emgerging Infectiious Diseases (ITAF-EID) has decided to keep three provinces in Luzon and five cities and two municipalities in the Visayas under the less stringent general community quarantine (GCQ).

The provinces of Nueva Ecija, Batangas and Quezon in Luzon and the cities of Iloilo, Cebu, Manadue and Talisay and the towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion in the Visayas shall be under GCQ from August 16 to 31.

Meanwhile Metro Manila and the neighboring provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal remain under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine until August 18.

A change of quarantine status for the National Capital Region (Metro Manila) and the four provinces in Luzon is expected to be announced by President Rodrigo Duterte tomorrow.

However, whatever the quarantine classification, there will be strict lockdown in areas where clusters of infection are detected, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque said.

“The National Task Force and the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) are directed to ensure that areas flagged for local action  shall implement strict lockdown of areas in line with Zoning Containment Strategy, strict enforcement  of minimum public health standards, and intensified tracing and quarantine of close contacts and isolation of confirmed cases,” Roque said.

Where the clusters are, that’s where the lockdown will take effect, not the entire city or province, he added.