PAO to assist 10 more Dengvaxia victims

October 01, 2018

Public Attorney’s Office chief Persida Rueda-Acosta yesterday said they will be assisting the families of at least 10 more victims of the Dengvaxia anti-dengue vaccine in filing cases before the Department of Justice (DoJ).

During the resumption of preliminary investigation at the Department of Justice (DoJ), the PAO assisted in the filing of rejoinders of the initial batch of nine families of children who allegedly died from the anti-dengue vaccine.

Acosta reiterated her plea for the creation of a special court to handle criminal and civil cases arising from the Dengvaxia vaccine that had been administered to thousands of school children before being withdrawn after the manufacturer acknowledged that the vaccine could afflict instead of inoculate children with dengue.

“These courts will help treatment and prevent deaths for thousands of children,” said Acosta, stressing that most of those who underwent vaccination are from low income families.

Acosta noted that government forensics experts had confirmed the adverse effects of the vaccine that was belatedly announced by the manufacturer in at least 92 victims.

Acosta said there was bad faith on the part of respondents vaccine manufacturer Sanofi Pasteur Inc. and its distributor Zuellig Pharma Corporation.

The DoJ panel is conducting the preliminary investigation on the criminal complaints filed separately by the families of the nine dead children  -- Aejay Bautista, Anjielica Pestillos, Lenard Baldonado, Zandro Colite, Abbie Hedia, Jansyn Art Bataa, Mark Axel Ebonia, Reijazztine Justin Alimagno, and Alexander Jaime.

The corporate directors and officers of Sanofi named in the complaint were Carlito Realuyo, Sanislas Camart, Jean Louis Grunwald, Jean-Francois Vacherand, Conchita Santos, Jazel Anne Calvo, Pearl Grace Cabali, and Marie Esther De Antoni.

While those from Zuellig were Kasigod Jamias, Michael Becker, Ricardo Romulo, Imran Babar Chugtai, Raymund Azurin, Nilo Badiola, John Stokes Davison, Marc Franck, Ashley Gerard Antonio, Ana Liza Peralta, Rosa Maria Chua, Danilo Cahoy, Manuel Concio III, Roland Goco, and Ma. Visitacion Barreiro.