Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan: Alvarez will be back as Speaker

February 27, 2019
Pantaleon Alvarez

THE Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) is confident of getting back the speakership in the 18th Congress.

In a statement, the PDP-Laban said it is fielding again Davao del Norte Rep. Pantaleon Alvarez, who was ousted as Speaker last year and replaced  by former President now Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Alvarez is the current Secretary General of the PDP-Laban.

“Alvarez leads the probable PDP-Laban candidates for the speakership,” the statement read.

Meanwhile, the PDP-Laban has also other candidates for the speakership in the 18th Congress, namely, Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco; San Juan Rep. Ronald Zamora; Cavite Reps. Alex Advincula and Bambol Tolentino; Malabon Rep. Ricky Sandoval; Pampanga Rep. Dong Gonzales; Leyte Rep. Lucy Torres and South Cotabato Rep. Ferdinand Hernandez.

The PDP Laban is certain it will wrest control of the House of Representatives.

President Rodrigo Duterte is supporting the PDP Laban candidates.

“PDP-Laban is the defending champion in the House and we have all-star candidates for the post of Speaker,” the PDP-Laban statement said.

“With our majority number in Congress and the strength of our candidates to win in the elections, it will be very hard for other parties to even compete,” the statement added.

In the senatorial race, the PDP-Laban has five candidates — Francis Tolentino;  Koko Pimentel, Dong Mangudadatu, “Bato” dela Rosa and Bong Go.

At least seven candidates have been adopted by the PDP-Laban. They are Sens. JV Ejercito, Sonny Angara and Cynthia Villar; Imee Marcos, Freddie Aguilar, Pia Cayetano and Rafael Alunan.