PNP gets 22 new vans from PSSLAI

February 18, 2020

PHILIPPINE National Police chief General Archie Francisco F. Gamboa personally received 22 brand-new Toyota Hi-Ace Grandia vans worth P49 million donated to the PNP by the Public Safety Savings and Loan Association or PSSLAI headed by retired Police Gen. Lucas M. Managuelod.

Joined by his Command Group and other members of the PNP Directorial Staff, Gamboa  thanked Managuelod and PSSLAI president retired Maj. Gen. Ernesto V. Belen for their latest contribution to the PNP’s effort to further improve its “move, shoot, communicate and investigate” capability.

“I formally received another generous donation from the Public Safety Savings and Loan Association thru PSSLAI Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Lucas Managuelod consisting of 22 units of brand-new Toyota Hi-Ace Grandia vans that will be distributed to the Police Regional Offices and National Capital Region Police Office Districts to support their transportation requirements,” Gamboa said.

The PNP chief said  the donated assets will certainly go a long way in providing added mobility to our police units. “This is not the first time that the PNP came at the receiving end of PSSLAI’s generosity, and we are grateful that thru the years, PSSLAI has continued to provide the PNP with mostly technical support to our operational requirements from office computers to investigative tools, training assistance and mobility,” he added.

Gamboa said  as the PNP’s premier and most dependable financial service provider, PSSLAI has truly lived up to its corporate commitment “to protect and serve those who serve and protect.”

During the same ceremony,  Gamboa and Managuelod led the presentation of awards to the recipients of the 2nd General Rafael Crame Balangay Awards chosen by a committee from the PNP Directorate for Police-Community Relations Group headed by Major Gen. Benigno B. Durana Jr. The winners received a total of P6 million in cash prize from the PSSLAI for their outstanding feat.

Police-Community Affairs Development Group director Brigadier General Joselito T. Daniel said  each unit awardee received P200,000 and a trophy while individual winners got P400,000 and a trophy each.

The award finalists were the PNP Special Action Force headed by Major Gen. Amando Clifton B. Empiso; the La Union Police Provincial Office headed by Colonel Jay Cumigad; the Iloilo PPPO headed by Col. Paul Kenneth Lucas; the Quezon PPO under Col. Audie Madrideo; the Bogo City Police Station in Cebu headed by Lieutenant Col. Emeli Santos; the Lucena City Police Station headed by Lt. Col. Romulo Albacea; the Urdaneta CPS headed by Lt. Col. Vicente Castor Jr.; the Daraga Municipal Police Station headed by Lt. Col. Rodelon Betita;  the Lagangilan MPS in Abra headed by Lieutenant Napoleon Ledchi and the Tiwi MPS in Albay headed by Captain Jonel Moratalla.