SC post bets shortlisted

October 01, 2018

THE Judicial and Bar Council has shortlisted Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez and eight Court of Appeals justices for the Supreme Court post left vacant by the appointment of Samuel Martires as the new Ombudsman following the retirement last July of Conchita Carpio Morales.

Aside from Marquez, also in the shortlist were CA Justices Japar Dimaampao, Ramon Garcia, Manuel Barrios, Apolinario Bruselas, Rosmari Carandang, Edgardo Delos Santos, Ramon Paul Hernando and Amy Lazaro Javier.

The 1987 Constitution requires that a vacancy in the SC be filled within 90 days from vacancy.

President Duterte is expected to appoint over 10 members of the SC during his term.

He already appointed five justices so far-Martires (who is now the Ombudsman), Andres Reyers Jr. Noel Tijam, Alexander Gesmundo and Jose Reyes Jr.