Senate Electoral Tribunal, House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal revamped

October 25, 2019

NEWLY-appointed Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta yesterday designated new chairpersons and members of the Senate Electoral Tribunal (SET) and House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET).

The designations will take effect on November 4, according to Special Order No. 2725 which was signed by Peralta.

In SET, the chairperson is Justice Estela Perlas-Bernabe, while the members are Justices Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa, and Alexander Gesmundo.

On the other hand, the chairperson in HRET is Justice Marvic Mario Victor Leonen, and the members are Justices Andres Reyes Jr., and Jose Reyes Jr.

Meanwhile, under Special Order No. 2723, Peralta also reorganized the raffle committees.

The en banc raffle committee will be chaired by Bernabe, and the members are Caguioa and Gesmundo.

While in the division raffle committee, Leonen was named chairperson, while Justices Andres Reyes Jr., and  Jose Reyes Jr. as members.

Likewise, Peralta reorganized the three divisions of the SC, which will take effect on October 28, according to Special Order No. 2724.

First Division chairperson is Peralta, working chairperson Caguioa, and the members are Justices Jose Reyes Jr., Amy Lazaro-Javier, and Henri Jean Paul Inting as additional member.

Second Division chairperson is Bernabe, working chairperson Andres Reyes Jr., and the members are Justices Ramon Paul Hernando, Inting, Rodil Zalameda as additional member.

Third Division, the chairperson is Leonen, working chairperson Gesmundo, and members Justices Rosmari Carandang, Zalameda, and Javier as additional member.