563 registered Cavite bets vie for 276 elective posts in 2019 polls

October 31, 2018
Jolo Revilla
Cavite gubernatorial bet Juanito Victor ‘Jonvic’ Remulla Jr. (right) and reelectionist vice governor, and actor Ramon ‘Jolo’ Revilla III, hold their CoCs during the filing last Oct. 17, 2018 at Comelec office. Photo by Dennis Abrina

CAPITOL Grounds, Trece Martires City -- At least  563 registered candidates for the midterm elections on May 13, 2019 are in the list of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) in Cavite Province vying to win 276 local elected posts.

Atty. Sheryl Monesca-Julie, Cavite Provincial Election Supervisor, revealed that 36 of 276 elected positions are virtual winners in the elections as they have no opponents. These include reelectionist Vice Gov. Ramon ‘Jolo’ Revilla III, who is eyeing his third and last term.

Four reelectionists congressmen are also unopposed in eight legislative districts, as well as five mayors, eight vice mayors  and 18 councilors.

The five reelectionists mayors with no opponents are Agnes Tolentino of Tagaytay City, Antonio Ferrer of General Trias City, Danny Bencito of Bailen, Perfecto Fidel of Indang and Dino Reyes Chua of Noveleta town.

The unopposed vice mayors are Mayor Conrado ‘Rading’ Viado (Nationalista Party) of Amadeo town, Louel Golfo (NP) of Bailen, Ismael Rodil of Indang town, Renato Dimapilis of Magallanes town, Francisco ‘Cocoy’ Mendoz of Mendez Nuñez town, Mayor Voltaire Ricafrente of Rosario town, Maurito Sison of General Trias City and Reymond Ambion of Tagaytay City.

“Salamat po sa tiwala na ibinigay n’yo sa akin bilang inyong pangalawang punong bayan ng Mendez. Makakaasa ho kayo na lalo ko pong pagbubutihin ang ating gawain para sa ating bayan,” Vice Mayor Cocoy Mendoza said in an interview.

The town of Mendez and Tagaytay also registered no opponents in councilor race as only eight and 10 bets (respectively) filed certificates of candidacy (CoC) last October 17 and were declared sure winners in May polls.

The unopposed congressmen are Strike Revilla (NUP) of 2nd District, Alex ‘AA’ Advincula (PDP-Laban) of 3rd District (Imus City), Luis ‘Jon Jon’ Ferrer IV (NUP) of 6th District (General Trias City), and Abraham ‘Bambol’ Tolentino (PDP-Laban) of 8th District (Tagaytay City, Alfonso, Mendez, Bailen, Magallanes, Maragondon, Ternate and Naic towns).

Two unopposed Board Member bets are Kerby Salazar and Felix ‘Jango’ Grepo, both of NUP, of General Trias.

It’s a four-way fight for the Cavite gubernatorial race. Former Gov. Juanito Victor ‘Jonvic’ Remulla Jr. (NP) is being  challenged by former Gov. Erineo ‘Ayong Maliksi of (LP) and independent bets Ber Ado and Roberto Borral.