6 Ilocos Sur PUIs negative for COVID-19

ILOCOS SUR—Governor Ryan Luis Singson announced  that the test results for the six persons under investigation (PUI) in Ilocos Sur yielded negative for coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). 

Among them is the patient from Barangay San Vicente in Magsingal town who was previously considered as a highly probable case.

The other PUIs include two patients from Bantay town and one each from Candon City and the municipalities of Cabugao and Santa, respectively.

Except for the patient from Magsingal, these PUIs with negative results were discharged from isolation to join their families in the implementation of the enhanced community quarantine.

Gov. Singson also lifted the lockdown of Barangay San Vicente in Magsingal on March 30 because it has completed the 14-day incubation period for the virus from the time of the PUI’s arrival in the community.

However, its residents are still required to maintain strict home quarantine with privilege to go out to acquire basic necessities, and to undergo health monitoring for possible signs and symptoms for an additional seven days as recommended by medical experts as an added precaution.

As for the PUI from Magsingal, he shall continue to undergo medical treatment and shall remain isolated for another 14 days as health professionals are still convinced that the case is consistent with COVID-19 despite the negative results.

As he called on for the unity of every Ilocos Surian, the Governor reiterated his reminder for people to stay at home and to listen to the advice of medical experts to keep safe.

To date, only one case of COVID-19 positive is recorded in the province of Ilocos Sur, particularly in Barangay Magsaysay in the town of Tagudin.

Based on the 10 a.m. update today from the Provincial Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging and Re-Emerging Infectious Diseases, there are 10 PUIs and 4,192 persons under monitoring in Ilocos Sur.

As of April 3, the Department of Health in Ilocos recorded 39 positive cases in the region broken down into Dagupan City – 5, Pangasinan – 19, La Union – 12, Ilocos Norte – 2 and Ilocos Sur--.