Baybay City stops accepting stranded persons from Cebu

June 13, 2020

TACLOBAN CITY – The city government of Baybay in Leyte has suspended acceptance of locally stranded individuals (LSIs) from Cebu due to the rising number of coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) cases there.

“This will allow the city inter-agency task force against Covid-19 to focus its efforts in containing the spread of the disease and enhance its contact tracing activities of suspected carriers,” Mayor Jose Carlos Cari said in a moratorium issued late Friday.

Since the outbreak of Covid-19 in the country, the city has confirmed a total of 20 cases, all returning residents, with no deaths, according to the Department of Health (DOH).

The figure consists of 16 LSIs (11 from Cebu and five from Metro Manila), two “Balik Probinsya, Bagong Pag-asa” beneficiaries, and two repatriated overseas Filipino workers.

The city began accepting returning residents last May 21.

All these are active cases, including a four-month-old baby, the youngest coronavirus patient in the region, the DOH said.

Meanwhile, Eastern Visayas has confirmed a total of 132 cases, with 34 recoveries and zero death.

Other areas in the region with confirmed cases are the towns of Burauen, Abuyog, Tolosa, Jaro, Isabel, Leyte, Tanauan, Pastrana, Calubian, Alangalang, Dagami, Bato, La Paz, and Tacloban City, all in Leyte; Tarangnan, Villareal, Gandara, and the cities of Catbalogan and Calbayog in Samar; Catarman and San Isidro in Northern Samar; and Naval and Almeria in Biliran. PNA