Ecija city, 20 other LGUs still COVID-19-free

PALAYAN CITY– This capital city of Nueva Ecija, San Jose City, and Muňoz Science City along with 18 other municipalities in the province remain COVID-19 free as of the latest posting by the Nueva Ecija inter-agency task force-COVID-19 yesterday.

The 18 COVID-19-free towns are Aliaga, Talavera, Guimba, Zaragosa, Sto. Domingo, and Nampicuan in the province's first district; Carranglan, Llanera, Lupao, Pantabangan and Talugtug (second district); Bongabon and Gabaldon (third district); San Leonardo, Jaen, General Tinio, Penaranda, and Cabiao (fourth district).

With Luzon now on its fourth week of the enhanced community quarantine, no positive cases of the deadly coronavirus disease have yet to be reported in the province’s capital city, according to city officials here.

City Mayor Adrianne Mae "Rianne" J. Cuevas said no confirmed case of COVID-19 has so far been reported yet with their record now standing at zero PUIs, and PUMs at 847 cases with 100 still under 14 days under quarantine and the other 749 cases already done with their quarantine.

On Good Friday, April 10, the Palayan City inter-agency task force which she headed started to distribute a cash assistance package worth P3,000 to each households of the city's 19 barangays.

Accompanying City Mayor Cuevas during the distribution were her husband, businessman Vince "Bong" Cuevas, Vice Mayor Moises Carmona Jr., and city councilors Julius Bautista and Larry Manapol, along with city social workers and barangay officials.

The province has a total of 30 confirmed positive cases with these cases recorded in 11 other COVID-19 affected areas. These are in Cabanatuan City and Gapan City with eight cases each; San Isidro (three cases); Sta. Rosa, General Natividad and San Antonio with two each; and with one case each in the towns of Licab, Quezon, Cuyapo, Rizal and Laur for a total of 30 confirmed positive cases.