February 26, 2020

TRAVEL to South Korea, which has seen a surge in cases of the novel coronavirus diseases (COVID-19), has been temporarily banned.  

Meanwhile, the Bureau of Quarantine (BOQ) at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) terminals are focusing their thermal scanners on all passengers coming from South Korea which has confirmed 144 cases of the COVID-19 and 977 total number of infections  and 10 deaths.

The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) monitoring the COVID-19 epidemic included South Korea in the travel ban after Korea’s Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (KCDC) reported new virus cases.

The BOQ at the NAIA terminals scanned passengers on Incheon, South Korea flights of Asiana Airlines who arrived 10:45 a.m. and of Korean Airlines who arrived 11:20 a.m.

There are 11 incoming flights from Incheon, South Korea every day at the NAIA terminal 1,2 and 3.

It was reported that Singapore will no longer allow the entry or visitors from South Korea’s Cheongdo county and Daegu city, which have been designated as special care zones after a spike of COVID-19 cases, the Singapore Ministry of Health (MOH) said on Tuesday.

The ban came into force yesterday and applies to all new short-term visitors who have travelled to the two areas in the last 14 days.

South Korea has reported 977 confirmed cases as of Tuesday, a majority of which are linked to a religious sect in Daegu city, while more than 100 are linked to a Cheongdo hospital.