Dyip top Beermen

COLUMBIAN Dyip does not mind losing so many games, so long as it wins the big one.

The Dyip played their best thus far as they put one over on reigning Philippine Cup champion San Miguel Beer, 134-132, in an overtime win that kept their flickering playoff chances alive in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup on Sunday at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Import Lester Prosper tallied 40 points, hauled down 13 rebounds and issued three assists as he stood at the forefront of the surprisingly amazing offensive by the Dyip.

However, Rashawn McCarthy, CJ Perez and Glenn Khobuntin made the plays that mattered most during the extension as the Dyip wrapped up the victory against the highly-favored Beermen.

McCarthy, who finished with 27 points on top of six rebounds and 14 assists, sank a triple with 2:18 remaining to give the Dyip a 129-125 lead in the extension.

Although June Mar Fajardo was able to keep SMB in the game following his three-point play off Prosper, 129-128, the Dyip were quick to negate that, thanks to Khobuntin’s big triple in the return play, Columbian restoring a 132-128 lead, 42 seconds left.

SMB stayed within striking distance at 132-130 on Santos’ undergoal stab, but Columbian pressed hard its offense as Perez barreled his way though tight SMB defense in the middle for a floater.

He made the shot with 12.7 seconds, giving Columbian a 134-130 cushion, before Fajardo struck for an undergoal for what stood in the final tally.

Perez finished with 34 big points, eight rebounds and four assists in what was one of his best games thus far since turning pro this season.

The win was only the second in eight games for Columbian, which remained in contention for a spot in the 8-team quarterfinal round. However, it needs to sweep its last three games to realize that.

The Beermen  tumbled to their fifth loss against two wins.

The scores:  

Columbian 134 - Prosper 40, Perez 34, McCarthy 27, Cahilig 9, Camson 9, Khobuntin 8, Corpuz 7, Cabrera 0, Escoto 0, King 0, Faundo 0.

San Miguel 132 - Rhodes 26, Fajardo 24, Lassiter 19, Santos 16, Pessumal 15, Cabagbot 12, Nabong 8, Ross 7, Tubid 3, Rosser 2, Standhardinger 0.

Quarterscores: 33-26, 59-53, 88-82, 118-118, 134-132.