Hope bags Filipino Chinese Amateur Athletics Federation crown

November 02, 2018
Hope Christian High School
Hope Christian High School, led by coach Jerson Cabiltes, celebrates.

HOPE Christian High School added  another feather to its  cap by  beating multi-titled  Chiang Kai Shek College, 57-44, and winning the  Filipino Chinese Amateur Athletics  Federation (FCAAF)   U-19 basketball  championship  at the CKSC gym in Tondo, Manila.

Handled by coach Jerson Cabiltes and led by former Batang Gilas mainstay Kris Harvey Pagsanjan and Christian Pauco, Hope Christian outscored  Chiang Kai Shek in the final period to end a six-year title drought  in  the country’s premier Filipino-Chinese league.

Pagsanjan, who was named as Most Valuable Player, finished with 17 points and a game-high 16 rebounds while Pauco, who was named Finals MVP, added 16 points for Hope Christian which is supported by Hapee Toothpaste, CTC Construction, ToughDog, Fruitas, ASEAN Engine  and CherLu Bar and Grill.

“It was a tough win, but I’m happy the players responded to the challenge against the Blue Dragons,” said Cabiltes,  who was assisted by Gonzalo Catalan and Joseph Guion.

Cabiltes also lauded Hope Christian community  for their all-out support to the team which now has five crown since 1992 . They also bagged the crown in 1993, 2011 and 2012.

Dr. Cecilio Kwok Pedro, owner of Hapee Toothpaste and school’s main backer, is hoping  the school victory over CKSC will be “a good preparation for the team as it vies in the prestigious Philippine Secondary School Basketball Championship Tournament of Champions in December.

Hope Christian athletic director Stevenson Tiu and team manager Bernard Yang are also hoping the team will become the first two-time champion of PSSBC

The other members of the team are Rico Postanes, Josh Devara, Marc Chester Jacob, Calvin Satin, Rey Placino, Rejoice Jimenez, Joshua Cajucon, Ronald Ingente, Rafhael Del Rosario, Jacob Abina, Eian Lanz Rebotiaco, Zoerbiak Devaras, Nathaniel Tizon, Sunny Phi, Earl Yu, Derk Into and Lendel Garcia.