It’s Fajardo again

January 13, 2019
June Mar Fajardo
JUNE Mar Fajardo beams (lower photo) as he delivers speech after winning a record fifth straight MVP award, while striking a pose (photo above) with (from left) SMB teammate Marcio Lassiter, Paul Lee (Magnolia), Japeth Aguilar of Ginebra and Stanley Pringle of Northport after being named to the first mythical team during the Leo Awards at the Philippine Arena.

Wins record 5th straight MVP award.

THIS arguably the most dominating center to ever make the PBA just keeps on making history.

In only his 6th season in the pro-league, June Mar Fajardo added another feather in his cap as he received a record fifth straight MVP award during the Leo Awards on Sunday at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan.

In winning the prestigious highest individual award, the gentle San Miguel Beer slotman surpassed four-time winners Purefoods star Alvin Patrimonio and Ramon Fernandez.

It is also the PBA record for most number of MVPs won in consecutive years.

The 29-year old Fajardo, who hails from Cebu, averaged 20.6 points, 12.4 rebounds and 1.2 blocks in dominating the 43rd season of the star-studded league.

The league uses the following criteria in determining the season MVP: 40% average statistical points, 30% media votes, 25% players’ votes and 5% Commissioner’s Office votes.

Fajardo garnered a total of 2,436 points, beating the league’s new scoring champion in Northport’s Stanley Pringle, who had 2,041 points.

The members of the media who religiously covered the PBA gave the SMB center 777 votes, the PBA office gave him 300 votes and the fellow players 327 votes. He also accumulated 1,032 statistical points.

Actually, Pringle, who is set to be feted as the new scoring champion by the PBA Press Corps, topped the statistical points with 1,107.

The fleet-footed Northport top gunner garnered 395 votes from fellow players, and 389 from media and 150 from PBA.

Pringle and Fajardo led the First Mythical team that also included  Paul Lee of Magnolia, Japeth Aguilar of Ginebra and Marcio Lassiter of San Miguel.

Barangay Ginebra’s high-leaping rebounder in Scottie Thompson was adjudged the most improved player and led the second Mythical team composed of Mark Barroca of Magnolia, Arwind Santos of SMB, Matthew Wright of Phoenix, and JP Erram of Blackwater.

Thompson averaged 9.1 points, 9.0 rebounds, 5.6 assists, and 1.4 steals from 8.5 points. He averaged  7.8 rebounds, 4.4 assists, and 1.0 steals from the season before.

Another Phoenix stalwart hogged the limelight as Jason Perkins copped the rookie of the year award.
In a sport where manner – a good manner at that — is given as much emphasis, Gabe Norwood of Rain or Shine definitely stood out as well in the night of achievers after he was bestowed with the enviable Sportsmanship award for third straight year.

Norwood, Fajardo, Rafi Reavis and Rome Dela Rosa of Magnolia and Chris Ross of San Miguel were named to the All-Defensive Team.

The Leo Awards preceded the colorful opening ceremonies ushering in the 44th season of the league.