M-League: QC outplays Caloocan, keeps perfect mark

October 14, 2018
Reynaldo de Mesa
Reynaldo de Mesa of Caloocan in shown in action during the Metro League game between Quezon City and Caloocan. M-League photo

QUEZON City rallied from several 13-point deficits in the final quarter to bring down Caloocan, 92-90, and remain as the only unbeaten  team with four victories in the Metro League basketball championship at the Parañaque Sports Hall.

Cyrus Tabi proved to be the man of the  hour again for Quezon City as he scored   nine of his game-high 25 points during the Junior Capitals’  furious comeback in the payoff period.

Tabi’s fourth-quarter heroics included a lay-up that tied the score at 85-all with 1:54 left, a three-point play for an 88-86 lead with 1:23 remaining, and another two-pointer that put QC safely ahead, 92-88, with only five seconds left.

A floating jump shot by Johnnel Bauzon of Caloocan finalized the score.

The win enabled QC to tighten its grip on the solo lead with a 4-0 win-loss record in the North division of the  tournament organized by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) and supported by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA).

It was a fitting follow-up for Tabi,  whose 29-point explosion lifted QC to 110-73 win over Marikina last Oct. 11

John Mahari added 18 points and Froilan Saquillo contributed 17 points and a game-high 21 rebounds for the Junior Capitals of Mayor Herbert  Bautista and coach JP Ycasiano.

Bauzon and  MJ Enriquez shared scoring honors with 16 points  apiece for Caloocan, which dropped to 3-2.

In other results in the event, which has   “mobile app ng bayan”  Barangay 143 as presentor, Spalding as the official  ball, Team Rebel Sports as official outfitter,  it was Pateros over Valenzuela,  94-87; San  Juan over Las Piñas, 92-80; and  Parañaque over Marikina, 92-81.

Pateros leaned on Rickson Gerero's 33 points and Jojo Lopez's 13 points and 15 rebounds  to subdue Valenzuela and improve to 3-1 in the South.

John Tayongtong and Dan Natividad had 19 points apiece for Valenzuela, which missed ace gunner Erwin Sta. Maria.

San Juan rode on Joshua Saret (26 points), Ryan Magbanua (14 points, 11 rebounds) and John Acol (10 points)

The 10-team tournament is also being supported by  San Miguel Corp., World  Balance, Frabelle Foods,  Summit   Mineral Water, Alco Plus, Gerry’s  Grill, Excellent Noodles, glitter.ph,  SM Supermalls and Nature’s Spring

Commissioner Glenn Capacio said  the  top four teams from each group will advance to the division semifinals after the eliminations where teams play each other once,  including those in the other division.

Lou  Gatumbato is the  technical director.