Pioneers, Victory Splash outplay rivals

December 20, 2018

PIONEERS brought down Team ABC, 78-75,  in a tight and exciting quarterfinal battle in Seniors A in  the  2018 MariQuina Basketball League-Q Cup  tournament at  the Parang Playground Court in Marikina last Dec. 13.    

Darryl  Silverio played  a solid game for Pioneers, scoring 20 points despite a solid defense of Team ABC in this prestigious tournament organized by Cong. Miro Quimbo and Kap.Tatang Zulueta as part of their sports development program.    

Earlier, Victory Splash Bros. outsteadied RVN-Barangay  Parang, 79-77,  behind 20 points of Jonferd  Sola in Juniors A action last Dec. 11.

Team LCM was a runaway winner over Formula Z, 109-68, with Ardin Dizon  leading all scorers with 17 points in Juniors B battle.

Meanwhile, M7-Coffee Mix pulled  back-to-back victories over Madam Tess, 107-102, last Dec. 4 and Pioneers, 111-86, last Dec. 2 in the Seniors A .

Joven Fulconitin scattered 21 points to lead M7- Coffee Mix to victory over Madam Tess, while Accad fired 30 points to power the team to a win over Pioneers.

In other Seniors A encounter, M & G Meatshop edged Team LCM, 103-102, behind Capobres’ 17 markers.    

St. Luke overwhelmed Cardinals, 115-62, in Juniors A division.    

Gaby Diño led the way for St. Luke with a game-high 22 points.        Q Cup Commissioner Sonny Manucat said the champion will receive P15,000, the runner-up  will pocket P10,000 and the third placer will earn P5,000.    

Monroe Cueson is  the deputy commissioner.

The other members of the organizing commitee are  Kagawad Zaldy Angeles,  Randy Hinojales,  Jerry Teobengco,  McKie de la  Cuesta and Frankie Ayuson.