Saints can’t go wrong

September 29, 2018

THERE’S no stopping defending champion St. Clare College-Caloocan.

St. Clare added City University of Pasay to its growing list of victims, posting a trouble-free 99-56 win  behind another solid effort in the NAASCU Season 18 men’s basketball tournament at the RTU gym in Mandaluyong.

Michael de Leon and Prince Casin starred for the Saints’ sixth straight win in the eight-team Group A.

De Leon finished with 13 points and Casin added 11 points for the Jino Manansala-mentored Saints.

More importantly, the Caloocan City-based Saints of  NAASCU founding president Dr. Ernesto Jay Adalem moved within a win of completing a rare seven-game sweep and clinched one of two outright quarterfinals berths with twice-to-beat advantage from their group.

St. Clare needs only to win over  2016 runner-up Our Lady 0f Fatima University on Monday. Oct. 1.

The  Saints have also won over Enderun Colleges (96-72), Philippine Merchant  Marine School (81-76 ), Holy Angel University (119-60). National Teachers College  (133-57) and  Rizal Technological University (83-59).

The six-game winning streak also produced a whopping 37.3 points winning margin by the Saints --  easily one of the  biggest in the 18-year history of the league.

Kobe Villagomez finished with 12 points and Jayvee de la Cruz added nine points, seven rebounds and five assists for the Eagles.

In  the junior division. St. Clare overpowered Fatima, 64-56,  to complete another double celebration.

Stephen Catacutan scattered  21 points on 9-of-19 shooting, while Cedrick Mwamba added 12 points and 13 rebounds for the Baby Saints, who led by as many as 19 points.

Niko Panganiban had 17 points and 11 rebounds for Fatima.

The scores:

St. Clare (99) --De Leon 13, Casin 11, Junsay 9, Hallare 9, Fuentes 9, Decano 8, Pare 7, Catura 5, Rebugio 5, Penaredondo 4, Rubio 4, Palencia 4, Pangan 4, Joven 3, Fontanilla 2, Santos 2.

CUP (63) -- K Villagomez 12, J de la Cruz 9, Gatchalian 8, Padilla 7, Palmenco 5, Aquino 4, Escabarte 3, Kishimoto 2, Polintan 2, Castaneda 2, Acidre 2, Celestino 0, R de la Cruz 0, C Villagomez 0, Catarbas 0, Condada 0.

Quarterscores: 18-8, 46-29, 75-41, 99-56.