San Mateo overcomes Malabon

January 29, 2019

ONE San Mateo Rizal made history by becoming the first-ever winner in the Community Basketball Association (CBA) Founders’ Cup  at the Jose F. Diaz gymnasium in San Mateo, Rizal over the weekend.

Led by Damian Lasco and Ralph Salcedo, San Mateo rallied from several double-digit deficits to  subdue Malabon, 87-75, in the kickoff game of the inaugural season of the community-based league organized by actor-sportsman Carlo Maceda.

Lasco  finished with  27 points, seven rebounds and two assists, while Salcedo added 22 markers, six boards, and two dimes in superb  showings for the home team.

Danny Marilao also  stepped up big  for San Mateo,posting a double double  of 14 points and 18 rebounds.

Marilao also barely missed a triple double as he finished with seven assists.

Richard Albo and Mark Corongoy led  the way   with 13 points apiece for Malabon, which led by as many as 19 points midway in the second quarter.

Kimsymon Pagayunan added 12 points and 10 rebounds for Malabon.

Overall, San Mateo made 36 of 76 shots for  47 percent compared to Malabon’s 30-of-95 for only 31 percent.

San Mateo also had more rebounds, 60-55, more assists, 18-16, and more blocks, 7-3.

Actually, Malabon opened up a 19-point advantage, 39-20, on a lay-up by Albo with 4:34 left in the second quarter.

But San Mateo scored the last six points of the period to come to within nine, 40-49, and opened the third period with a 13-3 run to finally wrest the lead, 53-52, on  a basket by Lasco with 6:14 left.

It was all San Mateo in the fourth quarter where they outscored Malabon, 23-12, to win pulling away.

“This  is a  good start for our league  CBA.  It was an  exciting game  between  San   Mateo and Malabon.   The  two teams  have  young and  talented  players, a  good coaching staff and   very   supportive  team  management   and coaching staff.  We  also  have a good  opening-day crowd in San Mateo last Sunday,” said Maceda.

The scores:

San Mateo (87) – Lasco 27, Salcedo 22, Marilao 14, Adolfo 12, Sevilla 7, Urganay 3, Maullion 2, Egea 0, Magalangcom 0

Malabon (75) – Albo 13, Corongoy 13, Pagayunan 12, Aquino 8, Mangalindan 7, Parungao 6, Ingles 6, Angeles 4, Carangalan 4, Bruno 2, Ortega 0, Ronquillo 0 Quarterscores: 15-24, 40-49, 64-63, 87-75