Taguig, Valenzuela bag titles

November 21, 2018

VALENZUELA trounced Caloocan, 119-107, to rule the North while Taguig survived San Juan, 88-77,  in overtime to win the South in the Metro League Open basketball tournament at the Tañada Homeowners Association Covered Court in Valenzuela last Nov. 20.

The victories of Valenzuela and Taguig enabled them to emerge as champions in their respective divisions and arrange a title  showdown in this tournament organized by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) and supported by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA).

The Workhorses and the Generals will now battle for the overall championship in a best-of-three  series starting Thursday  (Nov.22) at the Valenzuela Astrodome.

Five players scored double digits for the Workhorses with veteran Erwin Sta. Maria leading the way with 28 points on 10-of-17 shooting and 10 rebounds.

Ford Ruaya added 23 points and nine rebounds, John Tayongtong contributed 22 points, nine assists, eight rebounds and three blocks to help the Workhorses beat  the Supremos in the two-month long competition which has Mobile App ng Bayan Barangay 143 as presentor, my|phone “Bida ang Pinoy” as official  mobile phone, Spalding as official ball, and Synergy 88 as major sponsors.

Also coming up big were Dan Natividad, who had 21 points and Raymund Pascua, who had 10 points as the Gerry Esplana-mentored  Workhorses outscored the Supremos,  45-29, in the fourth quarter.

McArthur Enriquez  had  24 points for the Supremos of coach Rensy Bajar.

The Taguig-San Juan match in the tournament also supported by Excellent Noodles, Nature’s Spring Water, 1-Pacman Partylist, Hopewell Sales Corp., Star Bread, Frabelle Foods, Regan Industrial Sales, Inc., Glitter.ph, Alcoplus and Archie’s Bespoke Bar + Grill, proved to be a thriller.

Leading General’s charge was Nicolo Paolo Alcantara, who finished with 22 points.

The scores:


Valenzuela (119) - Sta. Maria 28, Ruaya 23, Tayongtong 22, Natividad 21, Pascua 10, Rivera 8, Espinosa 3, Kalaw 2, Esplana 2 Caloocan (107) - Enriquez 24, Perez 18, Torrado 16, Coquia 15, Bauzon 12, Sombero 8, De Mesa Jr. 8, Ligon 6.

Quarterscores: 22-28, 49-50, 74-78, 119-107


Taguig (88) - Alcantara 22, Monte 14, Oliveria 11, Mayo 9, Lumungsod 9, Ferriols 8, Lontoc 5, Cambaya 5, Albo 3, Gilbero 2

San Juan (77) - Saret 17, Astrero 12, Dada 11,Rosopa 10, Elarmo 9, Acol 7, Magbanua 5, Jagunap 4, Osorio 2

Quarterscores: 18-21, 41-34, 54-55, 71-71, 88-77.