‘Thompson’ cagers rule South GMA regionals

May 03, 2019

Wangs Basketball's Gelo Vito and Jarrell Lim steered Team Thompson to the throne in the South GMA regionals of the 2019 PBA Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Tapang ng Tatluhan last April 13 at Robinson's Place Manila in Ermita.

The former University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons paired up with fellow Couriers Rickson Gerero and Darius Estrella to pull off the 15-11 victory over Team Caperal from La Consolacion College.

Their success commenced the three-month long tourney, with PBA commissioner Willie Marcial, and current Gin Kings Art dela Cruz and Kevin Ferrer gracing the kickoff.

Also present for the opener were Ginebra San Miguel Inc. Marketing Manager  Ronald Molina, Brand Manager  Paolo Tupaz, and Assistant Brand Manager  Kelly Boringas.

The tournament continued last Saturday, where two more regional champions were crowned.

Team Japeth clipped Team Slaughter, 21-14, in the Central Visayas regionals at Brgy. Tinago Sports Complex in Cebu.

Ex-Cesafi stars Mark Panerio, James Ferraren, and Fritz Dajalos, together with former Asian College stud Vernon Anfone showed the way for the Adarna-A squad to down the bets from San Remigio.

In the South Mindanao regionals, Team Ferrer edged Team Tenorio, 18-11, to snare the crown at Brgy. Buhangin Gym in Davao.

Holy Trinity College-General Santos' Joseph Diamante, Louie Omadi, Everjoy Dialogo, and Victor Jay Poral joined forces in holding back their foes from Myrzias Koleksyon in the championship game.

The tournament continues this May 4 at Brgy. Bagong Silang, Caloocan for the East GMA regionals.

Succeeding regional championships include South Luzon Central at Sariaya Sports Complex in Quezon on May 11; Western Visayas at La Paz Plaza in Iloilo on May 18; and North GMA in Brgy. Sto. Cristo in Baliwag, Bulacan and North Mindanao in Brgy. Macabalan in Cagayan de Oro both on May 25.

The tournament continues on June 1 for the North Luzon West Central in Brgy. Maliwalo in Tarlac; on June 8 for West GMA in Brgy. Bayan Luma in Imus, Cavite and for Eastern Visayas at East Awang Gym in Calbayog, Samar; on June 15 for East GMA at Ynares Plaza, Brgy. Libis in Binangonan, Rizal and for North Luzon West Central in Brgy. Caranglaan in Dagupan, Pangasinan; on June 22 for South Luzon West at Lipa City Cultural Center in Batangas and for North Luzon Central in Brgy. Ibayo in Balanga, Bataan; and finally on June 29 for North Luzon Central in Brgy. Pulung Bulu in Angeles, Pampanga.

The champion squads will advance to the Regional Finals on July 5 at Robinsons Place Manila.

The championship game will be held on July 7 at Smart Araneta Coliseum.