14th Asean taekwondo

May 03, 2019
Monsour Del Rosario
DEL ROSARIO: Guest of honor

TAEKWONDO takes the spotlight today and tomorrow with the Phlippines' hosting of the 14th ASEAN Taekwondo Championships at the SM Mall of Asia Music Hall in Pasay City.

Three hundred and 50 athletes from eight countries -- Brunei, Cambodia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Timor-Leste, Vietnam and the Philippines --will vie for honors in Poomsae (Forms) and Kyorugi (Free Sparring) for both male and female categories.

Competition today will be conducted in Poomsae (individual, pair and team) from 9 a.m. to 12 noon and Kyorugi (Cadet and Junior divisions) from 2 p.m. to 8 p.m.but the hour-long opening ceremony will be held at 12 noon.

The guests of honor will be led by  newly elected ASEAN Taekwondo Federation president , Makati City Congressman Manuel Monsour Del Rosario.  The ATF general assembly held a meeting yesterday at the 101 Hotel participated by different officials of the eight Asean countries.

The other guests are Victorico P. Vargas, Philippine Olympic Committee president; Vincent Santos, Program Director of the MVP Sports Foundation; Ms Sherly C. Chan, Marketing Manager, Special Events of SM Supermalls; and a Nestle Philippines official.

Kyorugi's senior male and female participants will take centerstage tomorrow starting at 9 a.m. with the awarding ceremony set at 8 p.m.

Competition in the two-day event supported by MVPSF, Smart, Philippine Sports Commission, POC, Meralco, PLDT, SM Mall of Asia and Milo is expected to be keen.