Bersamina takes turn to shine

April 19, 2020
Paulo Bersamina
Bersamina: His time has come

IT was IM Paulo Bersamina's turn to shine.

Bersamina finally made his presece fely by ruling ths fiffh leg of the Philippine National Bullet online chess championship series last Saturday.

Bersamina, who topped the 2019 GM Rosendo Balinas Jr. Memorial Cup chess championship last September, tallied a runaway score of 96 points in the The 22-year-old campaigner from Pasay City, finished 16 points ahead of fourth leg champion IM Daniel Quizon.

Quizon lost three times to Bersamina but earned just enough points from the the rest of the field to clinch solo second place. Leg 3 Champion IM Joel Pimentel was another two points for third place.

United States-based GM and first leg winner  Rogelio Barcenilla settled for fourth place after leading for much of the way.

Barcenilla ginished just one point behind Pimentel.

Completing the top 10 finishers were IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia, sixth place; Arden's younger brother Chester Neil Reyes, seventh; Samson Lim, rigjth; Karl Ochoa, ninth;  and FM Alekhine Nouri,  10th.

The rest of the prize winners are:

11th - GM Rogelio Antonio,  Jr.

12th - Gio Mejia

13th - Norman Jasper Montejo

14th - Michaeljako Concio

15th - GM Darwin Laylo

16th - Christian Mark Daluz

17th - Johann Cedrick Gaddi

18th - FM Deniel Causo

19th - FM Sander Severino

20th - AGM Henry Lopez

The tournament is organized by the National Chess Federation of the Pholippines (NCFP), headed by Chairman/President Prospero “Butch” Pichay, and supported by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), led by Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez.