FEU, La Salle bag chess crowns

November 01, 2018

FAR Eastern University ended National University’s three-year dynasty in the men’s division, while La Salle hoisted the women’s trophy for the second straight year in the UAAP chess tournament over the weekend at the UST Quadricentennial Pavilion.

It was the Tamaraws’ 14th men’s crown, the most in the league, while the Lady Woodpushers from Taft snared a record ninth championship in the distaff side.

Finishing with 40 points, FEU actually secured the men’s championship in the 13th round following a 2-2 standoff with La Salle Saturday. The Morayta-based chessers then put an icing on the cake with 2.5-1.5 win over eventual third placers Adamson in the final round Sunday.

Rookie of the Year winner Jeth Morado led the Tamaraws by winning the Board 2 gold, while Romy Fagon was the team’s other gold medalist in Board 4.

The Bulldogs saw their reign end after a 2-2 draw with University of the East Saturday.

As a consolation for NU, which has 34.5 points, International Master Paulo Bersamina, who topped Board 1, was named the season MVP for the fourth year in a row.  Arnel Ilagan was the other gold medalist for the Bulldogs in Board 6.