Fiery show by Kappel couple in kiteboarding

January 21, 2019
Atte Kappel & Jing Gajisan
Swedish ace Atte Kappel and his Filipina wife Jing Gajisan in action.

EL NIDO, Palawan -- Swedish ace Atte Kappel and his Filipina wife Jing Gajisan  dominated the second leg of the ICTSI-Philippine Kiteboarding Tour  Season 6 here last Jan. 11-13.

Kappel swept Bong Fernando and Philippine Kiteboarding Association (PKA) president Jay Ortiz in Twin Tip course racing master division.

Kappel also won in Hangtime event against Bong Fernando and Warner Janoya.

Gajisan matched her husband’s success by topping the Twin Tip Course Racing and Hangtime.

Austrian Julia Tausch finished second, while Lynley Teng wound up in third in Twin Tip Course Racing.

In Hangtime , Tausch finished second behind Gajisan.

Karolina Michniuk of Germany came in third.

Other winners in the three-day event were Doque Delos Santos, who won the men's Twin Tip Course Racing and men's Freestyle;  Bing Laroque,  who topped  the women’s  Twin Tip Course Racing against Joyce Manahan and Karolina Michniuk; Neblier Mutya, who   ruled the  novice men’s division  over Lloyd Uanan and Donald Bello; and  Julia Tausch. who  took top spot in the Freestyle Ladies division over Karolina Michniuk and Jing Gajisan. 

The  event is  organized  by the   Philippine  Kiteboarding Association  (PKA), headed by  Jay Ortiz and  sponsored  by International Container Terminal Services Inc. (ICTSI). 

Notably absent in  the event also supported  by Kite Club Palawan,  Pukka  Bar, Balay Cuyonon  Eco Lodge, Cafe  Ranchos, Petal Travel  and Tours, Carmelita Homestay, Printhub, Piopio, Dive Sibaltan, Ursula  Beach Club,  Floresita Beach Resort, Headware and Tribu, Qi Resort and  David  John Travel and Tours was  first-leg  winner  Christian Tio.

After El Nido,  the series  moves to  Lakawon Island  for the  third leg on Feb.15-17, and   Boracay for the fourth leg on March 1-3.

Supervising officials were Mars Gerbach (Competition Director), Andy Curnow (Race Director), Joanne Santos (Tour Organizer), Hendrik Ven de Perre  (Head  Judge), Ryan Cahilig (Freestyle Judge/ Race  Marshal),  Reo Mendoza (Rescue Marshal), Jack Agrabio (Marshall) and  Joe Tindog (Runner).