Marcos, Ung share limelight in Sta. Ana leg

November 27, 2018
Emilio Romero & Egay Yap
PHA Aparri lap winners Emilio Romero (Young Birds) and Egay Yap (Old Birds).

STA. ANA –  The Philippine Homing Pigeon Association (PHA) North Young and Old Birds Series came to a fitting end last Nov. 25 with Resty Marcos and Paul Ung taking first place in their respective categories.

Marcos edged Nixon Sy and Angel Gonzales in the Young Birds division, while Ung nipped Henry Tan and Burlington Loft in the Old Birds class.

Marcos and PHA-18-1802192 – a blue bar cock out of Magnificent Line  origin– made a speed of 1,129.744  meter per minute to clinch first place in the Young Birds category.

Sy and PHA-18-1803569 – a blue bar cock out of  Henry  Tan Line X Henry Tan Line bloodline – came in second with a speed of 1,124.979  meter per minute; while Gonzales and PHA-18-1802908 – a blue bar cock out of  B540 Line X R. Florizoone – wound up third with a speed of 1,122.988  meter per minute. 

Also making it to the Top 10 list are  Joseph Yap, fourth place; Burlington Loft, fifth;  Anson Ong, sixth; Egay Yap, seventh; Power Clean Loft, eighth;  Millennium Loft, ninth; and Angelo Jose Ang, 10th.

In the Old Birds class, Ung and PHA-17-2721017 – a blue bar hen out of  Peter Van de Merwe X Gerard Koopman bloodline —  clocked 1,103.977  meter per minute for first place.

Henry Tan and PHA-18-2832205 – a blue bar cock out of Van den Broucke X Vyverman/Peeters – timed 1,097.946  meter per minute for runner-up honors.

Burlington Loft and PHA-18-2811726 – a blue bar hen out of Broken Wing X Vicente Ngo Line —  was third overall with a time of 1,072.977  meter per minute.

Joining them are  Victor Tan, Diaz & Galang Loft,  Charlie Chen,  Egay Yap, Victor Tan,  Raemond Bolisay and Henry Tan.

In his report to PHA president Jaime “Jimi” Lim, racing chairman Nelson Chua said a total of 276 birds out of 647  birds from 78 lofts were clocked in the Young Birds category; and  50 birds out of 138 birds in 34 loft were clocked in the Old Birds class.

The  other  previous winners in the PHA North are:

First leg, Munoz, Oct. 14  -- Joel de los Reyes  (Young Birds) and Jaime “Jimi” Lim (Old Birds).

Second leg, Sta. Maria, Oct. 21  — Jeg Ambrosio (Young Birds) and Henry Tan (Old Birds).

Third leg,  Tuguegarao, Oct. 28 —  Charlie Chen (Young Birds) and Benito Go Que (Old Birds).

Fourth leg, Alcala, Nov. 4 — Victor Tan (Young Birds) and Emilio Romero (Old Birds).

Fifth leg, Gattaran, Nov. 11 — Benito Go Que (Young Birds) and Egay Yap (Old Birds).

Sixth leg ,  Aparri, Nov. 18 —  Emilio Romero (Youn Birds) and Egay Yap (Old Birds).