Posadas, 33 others advance

October 01, 2018

NATIONAL bowler Lara Posadas collected 1946 pinfalls in 10 games to lead 33 other lady pintopplers into the second round of the 2018 Bowling World Cup national finals last Monday at Coronado Lanes (Starlanes).

The 28-year-old Posadas rolled five 200 games -- 245, 233, 214, 213 an 205 -- to fnish 32 pins ahead of multi-titled Liza del Rosario, who carded 1914.

Posadas represented the Philippines in the BWC international finals in Shanghai in 2016 while Del Rosario is gunning for a seventh international appearance.  The national men's and women's champions will earn the right to carry the Philippine colors in the 54th BWC international event set on Nov. 4-11, this year at Sam's Town Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Another national bowler, Alexis Sy, also remained in the race for the Las Vegas trip by checking in third with 1858.

The other ladies who qualified for the second round follow: Abbie Gan (1848), Pure Anselmo (1844), Dyan Coronacion (1839), Farah Onasa (1826), Mades Arles (1749), Rochelle Munsayac (1736), Alyssa dela Rosa (1706), Jo Anne Bonifacio (1678), Mae Malvar (1661), Liza Pabico (1640), Sherry Anne Cruz (1639), Gina Varilla (1624), Cielet de Leon (1624), Arlena Bucao (1594), Rowena Cabas (1589), Erlinda Afos (1579), Abby Lanuza (1539), Nancy Frianeza (1524), Yolly Floralde (1521), Winnie Kilito (1492), Alice Cabazor (1491), Jane Bonifacio (1451), Cita Yumul (1450), Jill Odulio (1443), Soledad Lorna Magabo (1415), Joanna Santos (1386), Vanessa Pabalan (1383), Myls Creencia (1381), Cindy Edquilane (1365), Esterlita Santiago (1360) and Luzen Escoto (1340).

With their games carried over, the remaining 34 male contenders will play 12 games today while the 34 ladies will roll another 10 games tomorrow -- both at Superbowl -- to determine the top 8 who will compete on Friday at Paeng's Eastwood Bowl for the national title and the right to play in Las Vegas.

Nicco Olaivar paces the 34-man field, followed by RJ Bautista and Merwin Tan.

Last year's BWC women's international champion, Krizziah Tabora of the Philippines, failed to compete this time because she's on medical leave.

Four other Filipinos -- Paeng Nepomuceno, Lita dela Rosa, Bong Coo and CJ Suarez -- have won the international BWC plums.  Nepomuceno holds the distinction of being the only four-time men's champion so far.