Teehankee named Trade Policy Review Body chairman

Philippine Permanent Representative to the World Trade Organization (WTO) Geneva Manuel A. J. Teehankee has been appointed as chair of the Trade Policy Review Body (TPRB).

He succeeded Ambassador Eloi Laourou of Benin.

The TPRB is the WTO body that oversees the implementation of the Trade Policy Review Mechanism, which was created under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) in 1989 to ensure transparency of Members’ trade policies and the smooth functioning of the multilateral trading system.

Teehankee thanked the members for entrusting him with the responsibility of chairing the TPRB, the third highest body in the WTO hierarchy.