Wei rules Asian chess tilt; De Guzman, Fronda shine

December 18, 2018
17th Asian Continental Chess Championships-2nd Manny Pacquiao Cup
Intense final-round action in the 17th Asian Continental Chess Championships-2nd Manny Pacquiao Cup at the Tiara Hotel in Makati yesterday. Grandmaster Wei Yi of China ruled the men’s division, while IM Rout Padmini of India topped the female category in the event hosted by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) and Philippine Sports Commission (PSC).

Final standings after nine rounds:


6.5 points --Wei Yi (China), M. Tabatabaei (Iran), L. Q. Liem (Vietnam).

6 -- S. Ganguly (India), N. N. Truong Son (Vietnam), N. Abdusattorov (Uzbekistan), P. Maghsoodloo (Iran), B. Lalith (India), S. Sethuraman (India), N. Adhiban (India).


7 points -- R. Padmini (India), Gong Qianyun (Singapore)

6.5 -- L. T. Pham (Vietnam)

6 --Zhu Jiner (China)        5.5 == T. Munkhzul (Mongolia), Ning Kaiyu (China), T. K. Vo (Vietnam),  Li Yunsan (China), Wang Jue (China), W. Aulia (Indonesia)

GRANDMASTER Wei Yi of China and IM Rout Padmini of India crowned themselves  as champions even as comebacking IM Ricardo de Guzman d WIM Jan Jodilyn Fronda emerged as the top Filipino performers in the 17th Asian Continental Chess Championships-2nd Manny Pacquiao Cup at the Tiara Oriental Hotel in Makati yesterday.

Wei settled for a draw with GM M. Amin Tabatabaei of Uzbekistan in the ninth and final round to finish in a three-way tie for first place with Tabataei and GM Le Quang LIem of Vietnam with 6.5 points, but clinched the title by virtue of a higher tiebreak score.

Le defeated GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly of India to join Wei and Tabatabaei  in first place at the close of the prestigious 64-player, 14-nation tournament hosted by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) and supported by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC).

The three players--Wei, Tabatabaei and Le-- earned tickets to the World Chess Cup scheduled  next year.    

Ganguly and GM Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son of Vietnam, who halved the point with GM S. P. Sethuraman of India, to complete the top five qualifiers to the World Cup.

Actually, Ganguly  and Nguyen led an eight-man group with six points, but took the last two tickets to the World Cup also due to higher tiebreak scores.

Also finishing with six points but missing the cut were GMs Nodirbek Abdusattorov of Uzbekistan, Parham Maghsoodloo of Iran, Babu M.R.LAlith of India, S.P. Sethuraman of India, B. Adhiban of India and Santosh Vidit of India.

De Guzman, a three-time Olympiad veteran trying to make his presence felt in the world stage again, battled No. 18 seed GM Abhimanyu Puranik of India to a draw to finish in a nine-way tie for 20 th to 28th places with 5.5 points.

Overall,  De Guzman finished in 23rd  place --  the  highest of the 20-man Filipino team.

GM John Paul Gomez also finished in the same group of De Guzman following  draw with No. 23 GM Tan Zhongyi of China in the final round.

Gomez settled for 27th place after the tiebreak.

GM Rogelio Antonio, Jr. outduelled newly-crowned  Asian Senior schampion IM Chito Garma and Jerad Docena nipped IM John Marvin Miciano in a pair of All-Filipino matches that enabled them to climb to a share of 29th to 37th places with 4.5 points.

Also in the group is IM Oliver Dimakiling, who trounced FM Mohamad Ervan of Indonesia.

The rest of the Filipino campaigners, however,  failed to make a dent in this 10-day tournament also supported by Sen. Pacquiao.

IM Paulo Bersamina lost to GM Ehsan Ghaem Maghami of Iran, GM Darwin Laylo fell to IM Liu Yan of China and   Edsel Montoya succumbed to GM Tran Tuan Minh of Vietnam    

In the women’s division, Fronda  split the point with No. 3 IM Guo Qi of China to finish in a  seven-player tie for 12th to 18th places with five points.

Fronda, who had four wins, two draws and three losses, wound up in 16th place after the tiebreak.

WGM Janelle Mae Frayna also finished withfive points following a draw with No. 13 WGM Nguyen Thi Thanh An of Vietnam but settled for 18t h place overall.

WFM Allaney  Jia Doroy finished  19th  with 4.5 points, WFM Shania  Mae   Mendoza   wound up 24th  with  four points,  WCM Christy Lamiel Bernales ended 26th  with  four points, WIM  Catheirne Secopito  27 th  with four points  and  WIM Marie Antoinette  San  Diego 31st with 3.5 points.