Red-hot Power Hitters try to sustain hot run

March 18, 2019
Jasmine Nabor
Jasmine Nabor of PLDT tries to keep the ball on play in the first set of their game against F2 Logistics recently. The Power Hitters won this game in four sets.

Games today

(FilOil Flying V Centre)

2 p.m. United VC vs Cignal

4:15 p.m. PLDT vs Petron

7 p.m. Sta. Lucia vs F2 Logistics

Red-hot PLDT Home Fibr seeks to keep rolling when it battles reigning champion Petron in the Philippine Superliga Grand Prix today at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Game time is at 4:15 p.m. with the Power Hitters looking to crush another heavyweight to intensify their bid in this prestigious women’s club tourney.

Prior to that, United VC and Cignal collide in the first game at 2 p.m. while F2 Logistics tries to score a rebound when it battles Sta. Lucia in the 7 p.m. main encounter of this league that also has ESPN5 and 5Plus as technical sponsors.

But all eyes will be on PLDT.

After finishing the first round with a 3-4 win-loss card, the Power Hitters are on a roll as they clobbered Generika-Ayala in five sets followed by a four-set domination of Foton to climb into the third place of the team standings.

But their biggest victory came from the Cargo Movers.

With head coach Ramil de Jesus attending mentoring De La Salle University in the
University Athletics Association of the Philippines, the Power Hitters delivered a masterclass as imports Kendra Dahlke and Grace Lazard starred on both ends en route to a 25-20, 23-25, 25-21, 25-18 victory.

“Our game plan worked, especially our combination attacks,” said setter Jasmine Nabor, who outshone Alex Cabanos with 25 excellent sets.

“I hope we could sustain the momentum. We have to work hard and prepare for our next game, which is against Petron. They are a tough team and we have to be at our best against them.”

True enough, Petron is no easy foe.

The Blaze Spikers are the hottest team in the league right now with nine straight wins, sparking talks that they are headed for a perfect season similar to what they achieved in the All-Filipino Conference in 2015 when Rachel Anne Daquis, Aby Marano and Dindin Manabat engineered a 13-0 sweep.